A Day in the Life of Bernice, Assistant Policy Officer

Published 30 June 2022

Photo of Bernice, looking at camera smiling

Can you tell us a bit about yourself?

I am the Assistant Policy Officer in the Governance and Advice Team. I moved to Australia from Burundi almost a decade ago to pursue post graduate education and complete a Masters of Social Change and Development.  

I started my career overseas as an administrative and legal officer before working for the Restoring Family Links program at the Red Cross in Burundi.

Before I joined ADNSW, I was working in the refugee and asylum seeking sector as an Employment Advisor.

Why did you join Anti-Discrimination NSW?

I joined ADNSW in April this year and for a long time, I have been interested in human rights and social justice. Joining ADNSW gave me the opportunity to continue what I love to do, to work in the policy and human rights sector and particularly to work for an organisation that has at its core, protection of people’s rights and a desire to end discrimination.

Can you describe your role? 

My role as an Assistant Policy Officer involves advising on and researching discrimination and policy issues. The team works collaboratively with internal teams, intergovernmental agencies and external working groups to find ways to reduce discrimination. 

The other part of my role is to process exemption applications and certifications under the Anti-Discrimination Act 1977. Exemptions and certifications are granted when there is evidence that the proposed action will promote equal opportunity or benefit one of the groups listed in the Act that are experiencing discrimination.

What do you like most about your job?

It’s crucial to me that my work aligns with my values. I really like learning about new legislation, policies and how to improve society to make it as fair and just as possible. I like the talented and highly skilled people I work with, as they help me to stay challenged and learn new things.

What keeps you busy outside of work?

I have two school-aged kids, and life can be very busy when you are juggling work and raising children. My kids are involved in sporting activities and as a family we always have social events to attend. Whenever I get some free time, I do high intensity interval training, listen to music and cook a new recipe. I love reading and also follow global political news, a hobby I share with my husband. 

 

 

Last updated:

10 Aug 2022

Was this content useful?
We will use your rating to help improve the site.
Please don't include personal or financial information here
Please don't include personal or financial information here

We acknowledge Aboriginal people as the First Nations Peoples of NSW and pay our respects to Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the ongoing connection Aboriginal people have to this land and recognise Aboriginal people as the original custodians of this land.

Top Return to top of page Top